Why Disney means so much to me!

A question that can be answered really quickly or you can take your time to answer.  We will go with taking our time to answer it as it means I can make more of a blog about it.  I am positive that during everyone’s life, they will have seen at least one Disney movie if it be it a classic one, a pixar one or a live action remake.  That to me is the beauty of Disney movies and music is that it is timeless. When their first movie came out in 1937….that’s 82 years ago!

Disney has been part of my life from a very early age.  I remember queuing outside a cinema with my father and I saw a poster for Bambi.  Now I know I’m old but I’m not that old that it was in 1942, it was the re-release in 1982.  Now this could tie in when I went to see Return of the Jedi and although I didn’t see Bambi then, I would when it was released on VHS some years later. I have a funny feeling that this was what the poster I saw looked like.

bambi

Another memory that I have with my father and my sister, was renting out a VHS (you will need to look that up kids if you don’t know what that means) when my mother was in hospital.  This was on a Sunday night where we normally had a Sunday dinner but Dad treated my sister and I to hamburgers and a movie of our choice.  That movie was a Disney movie of sorts and that was Who Framed Roger Rabbit.  This was a purely stunning movie seeing Bob Hoskins play Eddie Valiant and Christopher Lloyd playing the villainous Judge Doom.  This was the main reason why I met Christopher Lloyd at LFCC 2017.  I enjoyed him as Doc Brown in Back to the Future but I thoroughly loved his performance in Who Framed Roger Rabbit. This film was one growing up I wanted to watch again and again.

Of course with the memorable movies and songs also comes the TV shows and THEIR memorable intros.  So I am going to talk about them here but with a bit of a difference.  The two shows I am going to talk about I loved watching so much but I also enjoyed playing the video games to do with them.  I believetrailer here! they both aired around 1990 so I would have been around 12 years old and the games would have been around the same time.  That was Duck Tales and Chip N Dale Rescue Rangers. Incase you don’t know the theme tunes then here we go with Duck Tales NES Theme as well as Chip N Dale Rescue Rangers NES theme. Both games and both TV shows were truly amazing but if you were to ask people about what game and tv show they preferred, I would bet they would say Duck Tales. The music from the game is so memorable.  I have even looked up the music for you to check out the playlist Check out the playlist. The Moon theme would be my favourite one of the level themes but they are all great.  Duck Tales was so popular that they even did a remaster of it for the Playstation 3 and Xbox 360.  Check out the remastered trailer! But if you have a Playstation 4 or Xbox One, then fear not as you can get the Disney Afternoon Collection and you can have a look at the trailer here! It has both the games I mentioned as well as the amazing Darkwing Duck and TaleSpin. Some wonderful memories on the consoles!  Sorry if I went on a bit therenow but those games are really special to me and I really enjoyed playing them and I think after this blog, I will go and play them.  Come on Nintendo, give us a Switch port to play these great games on!

Again this is the beautiful thing about Disney. Think about your favourite movie.  Ok now think how many times you have watched that in the past 5 years, or since you watched it for the first time?  The great thing is that you don’t tire of watching the same movie again.  Some could restore memories like I have just talked about and you can also make some new memories with some movies you watch for the first time! Since I did my blog about movies I have seen this year, I have still some to watch and will I get them watched in less than 3 weeks till I go to Disneyland Paris?  We shall see.  Of course the ones with ticks mean that I have watched them.

A goofy movie ✅
Brave ✅
Brother bear
Cinderella live action
Finding dory ✅
Frozen ✅
Home on the range
Monsters university ✅
Mulan
Petes Dragon
Planes
Pocahontas
Hunchback of Notre dame
Ralph breaks the internet ✅
Of course my wonderful girlfriend Karen loves Disney and for our first holiday together to Disneyland Paris shows what Disney means to us both.  We have both had fun planning what we wanted to do and doing up a “bucket list” or sorts that both Karen and I would like to do together.  From going on a certain ride to meeting a certain character, we will do our best to make sure that we get done what we want to! From adding things onto the booking to picking up Disney themed tshirts, hoodies etc.  One big thing I have done is made a playlist for Disneyland Paris by getting albums via Itunes or CD.  These are ones from various soundtracks and I have added ones that get my foot tapping.  Do you think I have enough songs?

amountmusic

So from being a small child to being in my forties, Disney has been a part of my life.  With Disney now owning, The Muppets, Star Wars, Marvel, X-Men, Fantastic Four and many more as well as the new Disney + service coming up, Disney is going to be a major part of many peoples lives.  Before Karen and I head to Disneyland Paris, I did one other blog about the top 10 Disney movies.  You will see what I mean in a week or so!  Stay Tuned for that.  Thank you very much for reading this and until the next time!

 

IMG_0837

Leave a comment